Somalia invites four African Presidents to boost continenal relations


Somali government on Wednesday extended official invitations to four African presidents, a move aimed to boost the horn Africa nation’s relations with the continent.

Minister for Foreign Affairs, Ahmed Issa Awad said the government invited the presidents of Ghana, Gabon, South African and Rwanda.

“On the sidelines of the mini-meetings at the AU summit in #Kigali, #Somalia has extended an official invitation to the presidents of #Rwanda, #SouthAfrica, #Gabon and #Ghana to visit the country. Looking forward to enhance [sic] cooperation and partnership. #Somali #Mogadishu,” Awad said in twitter post.

Meanwhile, Minister Awad who signed a protocol establishing African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) on behalf of Somalia yesterday said the deal will be boosting continental trade and improve the economy of the continent.

“Somalia pledges to work alongside with the African Union to ensure the ratification and implementation of this agreement so that our people enjoy the benefits of today’s milestone decision for generations to come,” the minister assured.

The treaty which allows for free movement of goods and services in the continent was also signed by 40 countries.

African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCTA) will be world’s largest single market of 1.2 billion people has a combined Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of more than $2 trillion.

Several countries including Uganda, Eritrea, Burundi, Nigeria and Guinea Bissau have declined to append their signatures to the agreement.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here